Uber Tracks Your Location Even When You’re Not Using the App

uber

What do you call a company, which mines your phone, to know where you want to go, holds ‘unlimited rights’ to sell user data to its own benefit, and now tracks your locations even when you are not using its app? Well, there is a name for it, it’s called, Uber.

With its most recent update, the ride-hailing app, has begun tracking user location data, claiming that it plans to use the data gained to improve user experience — including offering improved pick-up times and locations.

Previously, Uber only collected data from the user if the rider had the application open, but with the update, the app prompts users to accept the new policy, and once done, it continues to collect data up until five minutes after the ride ends.

Privacy advocates have slammed Uber for their absolute disregard for privacy and security, so much so that, one Hacker News post, called the company’s Android app as “literally malware,” but the company, however, continues with its anti-privacy policy.

But if you are concerned about protecting your data and want to turn off collection, you can disable location services by going to your device settings.

Android

Go to Settings – Apps – Uber – go to Permission – toggle “Location”. If you’re on Android Lollipop (5.1) and earlier: Go to Settings – Location – toggle Off

iOS

Go to Settings – Privacy – Location Services – Uber – choose “Never”.

Leave a Reply