Seriously.

If you think you somebody out there is planning a revenge porn on you (by uploading your ‘intimate’ pics), Facebook is asking you to share your nude pics with Facebook in advance so that the company can block anyone else from sharing it on Facebook, Instagram, or Messenger.

Here is what FB has to say:


People who worry that someone might want to harm them by sharing an intimate image can proactively upload it so we can block anyone else from sharing it on Facebook, Instagram, or Messenger:
– Anyone who fears an intimate image of them may be publicly can contact one of our partners to submit a form
– After submitting the form, the victim receives an email containing a secure, one-time upload link
– The victim can use the link to upload images they fear will be shared
– One of a handful of specifically trained members of our Community Operations Safety Team will review the report and create a unique fingerprint, or hash, that allows us to identify future uploads of the images without keeping copies of them on our servers
Once we create these hashes, we notify the victim via email and delete the images from our servers – no later than seven days
– We store the hashes so any time someone tries to upload an image with the same fingerprint, we can block it from appearing on Facebook, Instagram or Messenger


Basically, this requires YOU to TRUST Facebook (more than your mother) and given what FB has done in the past, expect more apologies from Mark Zuckerberg if your pics fall into the wrong hands.

You never know. Facebook is..facebook.